The American College of Veterinary Surgeons (ACVS) is the AVMA-recognized veterinary specialty organization™ for certification of veterinarians in large animal surgery and small animal surgery. AVMA is the American Veterinary Medical Association.

Taking Your Examinations

Two examinations are required for ACVS certification: the Phase I Surgical Knowledge Examination and Phase II Surgical Competency Examination.

  • Phase I should be taken during the residency, during year 2 if eligibility requirements are met.
  • Phase II is taken after completion of the residency and acceptance of credentials.

View the Phase I and Phase II examination pages for the most up-to-date information. Future examination dates are available as well.

Need Help?

Contact Us!

Premier Sponsors

Arthrex Vet Systems
Johnson & Johnson
Mobile Veterinary Specialists
Sontec Instruments
Partner With Us Learn More