The American College of Veterinary Surgeons (ACVS) is the AVMA-recognized veterinary specialty organization™ for certification of veterinarians in large animal surgery and small animal surgery. AVMA is the American Veterinary Medical Association.

Fellowship Programs

ACVS recognizes that many of its Diplomates have achieved, or may wish to achieve, a level of expertise in a specific field. In order to ensure consistent training for Diplomates who wish to pursue specialized training, ACVS established ACVS Fellowship Programs.

Upon completion of training, Fellows of these programs have specific expertise and knowledge in their specialized disciplines beyond what can be mastered within a three-year veterinary surgery residency program. Individuals participating in fellowship programs must complete all requirements of a veterinary surgery residency, achieve ACVS Diplomate status, and have their credentials approved by the ACVS Board of Regents before receiving the title of ACVS Fellow in the chosen discipline.

ACVS recognizes this discipline-specific expertise within its own ranks and wishes to formally acknowledge this achievement, as well as assist in formalizing training programs. ACVS Fellowship Programs serve to develop highly skilled surgeons who will become recognized experts and leaders in their specialized field of training.

ACVS Fellowship in Joint Replacement Surgery
ACVS Fellowship in Minimally Invasive Surgery
ACVS Fellowship in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
ACVS Fellowship in Surgical Oncology

For questions about the application process or about the fellowship programs, contact the ACVS office or Dr. Michael G. Conzemius, chair of the Fellowship Committee.