One AO Awards

The One AO Awards are presented by ACVS Educational Partner AOVET North America annually at the ACVS Surgery Summit. Abstracts are chosen based on their cross-disciplinary orthopedic relevance and embodiment of the “one medicine” spirit of AOVET North America, which brings together physicians and veterinary experts in the fields of trauma, craniomaxillofacial, spinal, and veterinary orthopedic surgery.

2023 Recipients  

William C. Chung, VMD. (Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI). VMD Mechanical Comparison of Straight and Pre-Bent Interlocking Nails Used for the Stabilization of Tibial Fracture.

Lindsay Seewald, DVM. (Rood and Riddle Equine Hospital, Lexington, KY). Mitochondrial DNA as an Inflammatory Mediator in Early Posttraumatic Osteoarthritis.

2022 Recipients

Shannon Connard, DVM, (University of Pennsylvania, Kennett, Square, PA). Characterization of EVs in Synovial Fluid of Horses with Naturally-Occurring Osteoarthritis.

Thomas J. O’Brien, BVSc, (Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO). Novel Implant for Repair of Midbody PSB Fractures.

2020 Recipients

Shannon S. Connard (University of Pennsylvania, Kennett Square, PA), Renata L. Linardi, Kayla M. Even, Alix K. Berglund, Lauren V. Schnabel, Kyla F. Ortved. Effects of Continuous Passage on the Immunomodulatory Properties of Equine Bone Marrow-Derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells In Vitro.

Hadley E. Gleason (University of Illinois, Urbana, IL), Heidi E. Phillips, Stephanie E. Keating, Phillip Edward Stanley Hamel, Annette E. McCoy, Ryan E. Fries. Ala Vestibuloplasty Improves Cardiopulmonary and Lifestyle Parameters in Brachycephalic Cats. 

2019 Recipients

Stasia Sullivan (The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH), Sara Cole, Matthew Brokken, Sushmitha Durgam. Methylprednisolone Decreases the Viability and Transcriptional Activity of Equine Deep Digital Flexor Tendon Cells.

Adam C. Eby (North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC), Daniel J. Duffy, Matt Fisher, George E. Moore. Influence of an Epitendinous Suture Pattern on Loads and Gap Formation at the Repair Site and Whether Using Different Barbed Suture Types for Epitendinous Suture Repair Affects Yield, Peak and Failure Loads and the Development of Gap Formation.

2018 Recipients

Brianna Natasha Dalbeth (Tufts University, Grafton, MA), William Michael Karlin, Ross Lirtzman, Michael Kowaleski. Evaluation of Intraoperative Cup Position Using Fluoroscopy.

Bridgette Peal (Cornell University, Ithaca, NY), Rachel Gagliardi, Lisa A. Fortier, Michelle Delco, Alan Nixon, Heidi Reesink. Synovial Fluid Lubricin & Hyaluronan Are Deranged in Multiple Equine Models of Traumatic Joint Injury.

2017 Recipients

Anna Massie (University of California-Davis), Sue Stover, Tanya C. Garcia, Po-Yen Chou, David Sanchez Migallon-Guzman, Amy Kapatkin. The Effects of Hole Diameter on Torsional Mechanical Properties of the Rabbit Femur.

Marcos Perez Nogues (University of California-Davis) Julie E. Dechant, Tanya Garcia-Nolen, Susan M. Stover. Evaluation of the Effect of Water Temperature on Fiberglass Cast Strength.